top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Vegetarian Meals in Greece


Just a quick glimpse at some of the delicious meals we enjoyed in Greece that were vegetarian.

Typically, I don't eat dairy products, however, while in Greece, I decided that I would (mostly so that I could truly immerse myself in their culture= food!). I grew up eating Greek food as a child and often had Saganaki (fried cheese) as my entire meal. I also decided that since the cheese would be authentic Greek, and non-pasteurized or synthetic, that I would be OK with eating it with some meals.

Most meals I enjoyed while in Greece were either completely plant based, or had some feta cheese added on top. The Greek feta cheese really was worth it- I was glad to enjoy the true culture of Greece, including their delicious cheese!


This orange cake was by far our 'go to' dessert while in Greece. It is moist, flavorful, and surprisingly light!

Here is a link to learn more about this vegetarian dessert:

http://www.mygreekdish.com/recipe/extra-syrupy-greek-yogurt-cake-oranges-portokalopita/

Here is a link to make this dessert but vegan- I'm eager to try this out!

https://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/greek-orange-cake/


 

Crepes were very popular in Mykonos, Greece, and since we wanted a semi-light and small lunch we decided to split this "traditional savory crepe". This crepe was filled with tomato, feta, and green pepper.


 

Here is a puff pastry filled with cheese along side a red pepper sauce. This was an appetizer at a restaurant in Mykonos called M-eating. This was a great blend of fine dining, stunning plating, and very delicious food and wine. It was also not too expensive!


 

What a real gem this restaurant was!

This restaurant is called Mamalouka in Mykonos, right in the center of Mykonos Town. This restaurant specialized in fresh sea food. Tyler was very happy to get such fresh lobster with his risotto. I was happy to see they had a light, bright salad version of a zucchini carpaccio. We also found our new favorite wine: Chateau Julia Chardonnay 2017.

Once again, we had the orange cake (listed above) and this one had cinnamon ice cream!


 

Here was an eggplant dip that I dipped my falafel in. Very good and super cheap. This was consumed in Santorini at a quick stop restaurant called Why Not, in Fira.

This was the most amazing pesto! I truly believe that this was the best besto I've ever eaten. I've been trying to find this so that I can ship it to my house in the US. An absolutely delicious snack to enjoy while viewing the island's sunset.

 

Our first night in Imerovigli, Greece (Santorini), Tyler and I decided that we wanted to go out to eat and enjoy a nice meal. We figured we would get dessert somewhere, but also wanted to eat a relatively sizable meal, so we chose to split the pasta with veggies, olive oil, and local cheese on top, along with fava bean puree, fried and sun-dried tomatoes, and Tyler ate the octopus skewer. This meal was consumed at Le Moustache Restaurant looking right out at the sea.


 

Our first meal in Imerovigli Santorini, Greece was at a restaurant called Avocado. I chose to get the vegetarian risotto with fresh Greek cheese on top while Tyler got the sea bass. He and I both ate our whole dish!


 

This meal was enjoyed right above our hotel, on the roof top, at the Herodion Hotel in Athens, Greece. The view as absolutely spectacular and the hotel offered us a free glass of wine each for staying there.


 

This was our first dinner in Athens, Greece at an adorable restaurant, right next to our hotel! This restaurant is called Ellevoro. I had the moussaka and Tyler got a crab rangoon type of dish with sea foam- so pretty!

 

Right across from each other: Taverna Tou Psirri and La Serbetia Stou Psyrri offered such wonderful food and sweets!

The fried cheese (Saganaki) pictured below was consumed at Taverna Tou Psirri along with some red wine, sourdough bread, and our delicious meals (mine was the veggie tower- posted in my vegan food from Greece blog post).

The dessert above was a hazelnut cake from La Serbetia Stou Psyrri. It was absolutely delicoius, light, flavorful, and moist. This place offered sangria and even brought us some after we paid as a thank you. We LOVED this dessert place!

Again, I do not normally consume dairy products, however, in order to truly enjoy some of the meals that I knew would be traditional Greek, I needed to give in. I am so proud and glad that I had. These meals were well worth the discomfort!


Cheers and happy eating!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page