top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Caramelized Banana Oats

After a run that really tired me out, I knew I needed to fuel my body.

I've been following #kaylaitsines and her #28daymeal plans, and she mentions the idea of having whole foods and a balanced diet, so I thought of oats with some fruit and nut butter.

Here is something that is delish, #vegan, & filling that works for a pre or post-run meal.

I cut one banana in half and reserved the other half for the oats preparation. The first half of banana I cut in half length wise, so that I could caramelize it in a pan with a tiny bit of coconut oil. Put a tiny bit of coconut oil (maybe 1/4 teaspoon) in a shallow pan and warm the pan to a med-low heat.

Then caramelize the banana halves for about 3-4 minutes or until browned. (Be careful- they may stick, I flipped them twice while cooking to help them release easier) Then remove the banana halves and add in 2 Oz of steel cut oats, 2 Oz of cashew milk, and the other half of the banana (diced small) and cook on a medium heat until thick and creamy. I tried to break down the bananas even more as it cooked to make it creamier! I added cinnamon toward the end and stirred in, then transferred to a bowl, topped with the caramelized banana and 1 teaspoon of almond butter. Serve hot! Enjoy!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page