top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Pesto!

I absolutely love pesto, however, I needed a completely plant based pesto to enjoy, so I made one out of kale and basil!



Here are the ingredients:

2 cups of chopped kale 1 handful of walnuts 2 handfuls of basil A pinch of garlic, salt, and pepper A few tbs of olive oil Half a lemon squeezed for juice Pulse in a food processor (I pulsed the kale and walnuts first, then added the rest in and pulsed again)

I have been adding this pesto to pasta dishes, lentils with veggies, you name it!


 

I went to the farmer's market and purchased a bundle of carrots. The vendor asked the woman in line before me if she wanted the tops of the carrots trimmed off, and she replied "no thank you, I'll use the tops for pesto"- it instantly inspired me to try and do the same!



This pesto is made from:

The tops of 5 carrots

4 cups of purple kale

The juice of 1 small lemon

1/3 cup of olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

Salt and pepper to taste


Enjoy!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page