top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Running and stretching

In order to get my daily work out in, often I choose to run. I was not a runner prior to coaching Girls On The Run (such an amazing program that supports young girls!), nor do I think I'm an expert runner, but I enjoy the rush and high you get during and after running and love what it does for my body!

I generally run anywhere from 2-3 miles each time I run in the morning. I choose to run in the morning after I ate a heavy meal the night prior, or at least an hour and a half after eating a breakfast that was filled with complex carbs and often fruit.


Make sure you get comfortable, proper running shoes so that your body is taken care of during your exercise.

After each run I walk a little while to help catch my breath and to stretch my legs out a little. Generally I do about 25 walking lunges, 25 cross kicks while walking and my leg extended, triceps and bicep stretches across my body, and some calf stretching.

After I stretch outside, I come back inside and head directly to my yoga mat. I use my foam roller to help deeply get the stretch that I need and that my body craves (especially the day after a long run!) I make sure I stretch the front, side, back, and glutes- rolling out both legs.


I also roll out my lower and upper back during the foam rolling session. I generally use the roller for about 5 minutes or so. Again, this goes back to how I stretch for at least 10 minutes after each workout.

Then, I head to the kitchen to make a protein packed smoothie so that my body can start rebuilding the muscles that I was tearing down during the run.

I use vegan vanilla protein powder: Natures Plus Pea Protein

Today's smoothie included:

1 handful of spinach, 1/3 a frozen (peeled) banana, 1/4 cup coconut water, 1 tsp spirulina, 1 scoop of protein powder, about 1/2 tsp fresh (peeled and frozen) ginger, and a little lemon.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page