top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

A typical day:

Updated: Jun 15, 2018

Many of my co-workers ask me about how I have managed to keep the weight I have dropped off, stay so determined to eat well, and what "rules" I follow for eating and working out. I figure I can share that info with you by describing a typical day for you.

Right now, I am on summer break (I am a teacher) so I'm living my life a bit different than if I were at work- however, many of the same components are in my working and non-working days.

First, on a work day, I wake up around 5am and get some warm lemon water in my body to hydrate. Not only do I ensure that I hydrate early in the day, but I make an effort to drink plenty of water throughout the day. Often enjoying some non-caffeinated tea at night (or just warm water- because I am always cold!).

I do a work out of some sort to help keep my body moving, feel less lethargic, and to allow me to get one in (since my commute won't really allow me to do so after work every day).

Mondays and Wednesdays, generally, I do a leg workout - I follow @kayla_itsines 's circuit training and combine some of her workouts.

Tuesdays and Thursdays, since I was coaching Girls On The Run (which I highly recommend you checking out- so amazing and inspiring!) I would run in the afternoon with the girls, so theses mornings I would do a Yoga with Adriene video. When it is not GOTR season, I run in the mornings- about 2 miles or so.

Friday, I would do an at home Barre workout video, something to wake me up but to tone my whole body.



Saturday, I go to a free yoga class (provided by #lululemon ) with some girlfriends and then enjoy a smoothie from @realgoodjuice

Sunday, I generally go on a long walk, run, rest, do a full body workout, stretch or yoga, or read a good book (working my brain :) )


Regardless of the workout, I ALWAYS stretch! I generally stretch at least 10 minutes and often use a foam roller.


Then I would shower off and make some sort of protein smoothie. I freeze bananas that have been peeled and then chopped and use those as a base almost each time. Generally I use some sort of berry, #naturespure pea protein powder, and always use some frozen kale (in a blender blend kale & coconut water together and then freeze in silicon cups). Here is an example of something I would make for me and my boyfriend in the morning.

Then I make sure I have snacks prepared and lunch packed.

If I need to caffinate, I enjoy a coffee with #so_delicious coconut creamer or a matcha latte (follow the recipe to my #matchalatte )

I enjoy a snack around 9:30 or so, generally consisting of #so_delicious yogurt alternative and #traderjoes granola or veggies with hummus.


 

My lunch has the carbs that my body will need to keep energized throughout the day. Generally lunch will have some sort of brown rice, whole wheat pasta, quinoa, or lentil. Lunch is generally around 12:30 for me, mostly because I feel like a wild animal ready to eat anything if I don't eat after 3 hours or so.

Here is an example of a lentil bowl that I enjoyed today:


Red lentils simmered in vegetable stock along with red onion and zucchini (after the lentils have cooked about 10 mins on low), then topped with my kale pesto.

Then around 3:30 I have another snack, similar to the morning- veggies and hummus, yogurt alternative, a #larabar - anything that will keep me going that is satisfying and delicious.


 

For dinner (around 6:30 or so), I try to stick with my rule of "pack in the veggies and fruits". I try to make a habit of not eating heavy foods, complex carbs, or starches after 4 pm- mostly because I have done most of the "work" that my body needs to complete, so my body does not need the carbs or "power" and energy that it does during the day. During the day, I make sure I get those carbs in, at night, I am trying to wind down, so I stick with veggies. I make salads, curries, zoodles, and so much more. Here is a picture of the kind of dinner I would make (my boyfriend's will generally have a fillet of fish or chicken on top).

Lastly, I eat one more time (yes, that is at least 6 times in the day!) and enjoy some sort of "dessert". Since I am a #plantbased diet, I work toward eating something healthy and nutritious like a sliced apple with fresh ground peanut butter, dates and peanut butter, strawberries with #delightedbyhummus brownie batter hummus, or some "nice cream". I try not to eat past 8 pm, mostly because I don't need the energy to drive my day a few hours before sleeping.

I generally go to bed around 9:30 or so, so that is just enough time to let my dessert digest and allow me to get at least 8 hours of sleep.


This is just a description of some of the things that I do during my day and how I manage to stay active, fit, healthy, and eat well.


 

To recap: I do something to stay active each day

I eat about 6 meals a day- some days more- especially if I am hungry (never fight those signals that you need more food!)

I eat plant based foods that are pure, raw, and clean

I enjoy all types of work outs, often going on long walks as a way to keep my body moving, yoga, HITT circuit training, and barre

Always stretch after working out

Drink enough water


Here is to living healthy! Cheers


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page