top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Sweet Potato Toast!


Happy #Veganuary !

At work, a co-worker and I have been trying to introduce healthy, delicious, #vegan food to the rest of the staff; and what better time to do so than when people are focusing on a healthier lifestyle, making new resolutions, and willing to try plant-based food: Vegauary?

I decided I'd make a "toast" so that the staff could endulge in a #glutenfree , #protienpacked delicious breakfast that can fuel them throughout the day.

I have two variations below, but will describe the roasting process used for both, and then share specifics for the "toast" toppings.


 

Roasting Sweet Potatoes

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

First, I sliced 3 peeled sweet potatoes in about 1/8 inch circle slices.



Then, I lay the slices in a flat layer on top of parchment paper, pouring a light layer of olive oil on each slice.

I baked the slices for 20 minutes, and then flipped each slice (carefully, they are hot!).


Next, I let the sweet potatoes cool for about 5 minutes.

If you want your "toast" to be crisper, or more like a chip, keep the potatoes in for about 5 minutes longer- just watching so they don't burn.


Finally, I topped the circle "toast" with yummy, healthy, and nut-based toppings.


 

PB&J Sweet Potato "Toast"

Take the sweet potato rounds and top each one with some #freshgroundpeanutbutter along with some jam.

This makes for the perfect, gluten-free PB&J.

I allowed the staff to create their own, so that they can put as much or as little of each ingredient they would prefer. That also allowed the sweet potato to stay the same consistency and not get too soft.

It would be my recommendation to serve the sweet potatoes warm.



Enjoy!


 

Banana Nut Sweet "Toast"

Take the sweet potato rounds and cover them with almond butter (or any nut butter of preference).

Then slice bananas very thin, and place a thin layer over the almond butter.

You could also top with chia seeds or #dairyfree chocolate chips!


Enjoy!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page