top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Vegan "cheesy" zoodles

I was really feeling like some creamy noodles and had some zucchini, fresh veggies, and some of the butternut squash sauce that I had made a few days ago. So #vegan zoodles with a creamy "cheesy" sauce came to be.



For the butternut squash sauce first, I peeled the outside and cut the butternut squash into more manageable pieces.

These pieces were in thin rounds, and then toward the bottom, after scooping out the seeds, some pieces were in bite sized square pieces.

I diced and steamed about 1/2 a butternut squash, let it cool slightly, then added in some of my cashew cream, a pinch of salt, pepper, and minced garlic, and pureed together.



I used my spiralizer (similar to this one) to create zucchini zoodles on a thin setting to look like spaghetti.

I diced up about a table spoon of white onion and began to soften in a pan with a splash of water. Then, added in about a teaspoon of minced garlic.

After the onion and garlic have cooked a few minutes, I added in the zoodles to soften, along with about 1 teaspoon of turmeric.


Next, I added in some washed spinach and one medium diced tomato to soften.


After that, I added in about 3 tablespoons of the butternut squash "cheese" sauce, 1 teaspoon of red chili flakes, and about 1 tablespoon of water to thin the sauce.


One last tip, I cut some of the zoodles in half, as they were quite long after spiralizing them.

I also added some dried oregano on top as I plated.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page