top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Asian bowls- feeling spicy

Lately, I've been craving more and more heat in my meals. I have also been IN LOVE with the bowls that my mother-in-law got us for Christmas, they have slots for chopsticks! Needless to say, I've been trying to make more Asian-inspired meals, and have been adding more and more heat to each one.

Here are two recipes that I made that require little time at all but provide full flavor and are nutrient packed!


 

Ginger Turmeric Miso Soup with Glass Noodles:


I also topped with a lime wedge!

-Cook the glass noodles according to package instructions: generally, boil hot water, and pour it over the noodles. Let the noodles cook in the hot water for about 6 minutes.

-Add one container of #traderjoes Ginger Miso Veggie Broth along with some julienned onions and peppers. (Or any fajita style veggie you prefer)

-Let the veggies cook slightly in the broth, about 3 minutes.

-Then add in 1 teaspoon of turmeric, 2 teaspoons of chili paste, and a little pepper. Let that cook about a minute to meld the flavors, then add in diced tomato, diced tofu, and chopped spinach.

-Cook until the spinach has wilted( 2 minutes or so).

-I then took the glass noodles and cut them in half, removed some from the bowl (in which they were cooked) and put them in bowls for serving.

-I then added the water the noodles cooked in to the pot with the remaining soup ingredients.

-I squeezed in some lime juice and then poured the soup on top of the glass noodles in a serving bowl.

-Lastly, I topped with cilantro and a lime wedge, or squeeze of lime.


Enjoy!


 

The next recipe I have for you is super quick, and was truly a modge podge of ingredients I had in my fridge.

Asian stir-fry bowl:


Be sure to use reusable chopsticks! You can find them easily on Amazon.com

-First, I cut broccoli into bite size pieces and steamed them. (I have a rice cooker/veggie steamer- so I'm not positive how long it would take in a pot with boiling water...but cook till slightly fork tender). Don't over cook them, you want the broccoli to still have a slight crunch to it, especially since it will go in the pan later with the sauce.

-Then, in a large pan, saute onion, peppers, and carrots until just fork tender.

-Squeeze some lime juice into the pan, and pour in about 1-2 teaspoons of soy sauce, as well as 1 teaspoon of chili paste.

-Next, once the veggies are tender, I coated the about half a block of tofu (diced into bite sized pieces) with mustard seed and cooked them in the middle of the pan to warm and slightly brown.

-Next, add in some diced tomato and diced spinach, cook till the spinach has wilted.

-Pour the pan contents into a bowl like mine :) or a serving bowl, and serve hot!

-I topped this with red chili flakes, lime juice, cilantro, and sesame seeds.


Enjoy!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page