top of page
  • Writer's picturejmathiesonjm

Black Bean Brownies, Borrowed

My co-worker is #glutenfree and #vegan, and since I was determined to make a healthy, GF and vegan treat for her to celebrate her birthday, I decided to borrow a black bean brownie recipe with an amazing (modified) frosting.

I chose #thevegansclub 's recipe, as it allowed for healthy, hearty, and #plantbased ingredients to really shine and meld together. I did make some modifications, making peanut butter frosting, rather than cashew based. And I already had creamy peanut butter that is fresh, so I used that rather than soaking the nuts.

Visit thevegansclub.com or their Insagram for the exact video instructions.



 

Here is how I made them:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

I poured 1/2 cup of oats and pulsed them in a food processor till fine.

Next, I took a can of black beans, 8 pitted dates, 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder, 3 tbsp cacao powder, a pinch of salt, 4 tbsp maple syrup, about 1 teaspoon of water and pulsed to make a thick batter.

Then I poured some batter into mini-muffin tins, topped each with a sprinkling of dairy-free chocolate chips, and baked them for 16 minutes.


I let them cool for about 4-5 minutes and then topped with the peanut butter frosting.


Peanut butter frosting: #peanutbutter #frosting

I used 1/2 cup of fresh ground peanut butter, 2 table spoons of maple syrup, and then 1 table spoon of water, & pulsed together. Enjoy!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page